Mon. Aug 26th, 2019


Learn Different

HTTP status codes for beginners

2 min read

Hello everyone once again back again with another tutorial blog. In this blog we will be discussing about HTTP status codes. As a penetration tester you should know these basic things. Comes lets discuss about each and every type of status codes in detail. The following are the various groups of status code’s.

  • 1.x.x Informational codes
  • 2.x.x successful codes
  • 3.x.x Redirection codes
  • 4.x.x Client side Error code
  • 5.x.x server side error

There are lots of sub-categories in each group of status codes, But in this post we will be discussing about the major and most important status codes that you encounter often.

100 – Continue: It indicates that the server received request header and waiting for the client to send request body.

101 – Switching Protocol: used for a server to indicate that the TCP connection is about to be used for a different protocol

122 – Requested URI too long : Requested URI is longer than the maximum allowed characters.

200 – Success : most of us know about this status code, This indicates the request is successful.

201 – Created : This protocol is a returned response for a PUT request indicates the request was successful.

301 – Moved Permanently: It is a redirection status code which means a new URL has been assigned and the client should use it for future. This URL will be updated in a new response header named as Location.

302 – Found: If you see this status code then it means that the browser redirected temporarily to a different URL, Which is specified in the location Header.

400 – Bad Request: This means the client have submitted an invalid request.

401 – Unauthorized: This means the http request could not be processed due to authentication problem or wrong credentials.

403 – Forbidden: No one is allowed to view the requested content. In other words we can say as Server refuses to authorize it.

404 Not found: The requested resource is not available on the server.

405 Method not allowed: It indicates that the requested http method is not allowed on the specific URL.

413 and 414 status codes: These two codes are similar to each other, they indicates that the requested URL or entity is too long for the server to handle.

500 Internal Server Error: This means the server encountered an unexpected error.

503 Service unavailable : It means the available service is unable to respond for the request.

That’s all guys these are the important status codes that everyone should know about. If you have any doubts please let me know.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar